you know that kind of day that is filled with laughter and joy and vintage dresses that is destroyed by one simple statement of three words: “you’ve got mail.” usually an exciting thing to hear, if you ask me. tonight it only brought a blotchy red face and eyes gracefully depicting a watering can. i have been faced with one of the worst scenarios i could imagine in my life right now. in the midst of this storm, i am finding it hard to cling to the hand of the Lord and trust that his promises are true and that his will is better than my own. it is so easy to be quick to be angry; so easy to believe that it is my way or the highway. as the Bible says, “there is a time and a season for every activity under heaven…. a time to weep and a time to laugh.” (ecclesiastes 3:1, 4) a time to weep is apparent in my life right now. (and that is not something i say often). a spirit of prayer is much needed in a time of despair. in romans 8, we are told that the Spirit helps us in our weakness because we do not know what to pray for. i have found myself being torn between to mandatory obligations. on the exact same date. at the exact same time. and i don’t know what to do. i will seek the Lord’s will in either situation. and seek his direction through prayer. but i ask this of you, reader, please pray for me as i seek wisdom, dignity, and the path that i am to follow.

